Long Lost Love

In preparation for IU Health North Hospital Art of Wine, I have been communicating with and researching each of our wineries that will be serving samples at the festival.  Vine & Table, located on Carmel Drive, grabbed my attention with their stock of wine and beer from around the world. Going to check out the selection was not an option, it was a “must do”!

I have been searching high, low, forwards, and backwards for my beloved Speight’s beer. This tasty beer is mainly produced in Dunedin, in the south island of New Zealand. This is the beer that I turned 21 with, the beer that I toured the brewery and spent this last Saint Patrick’s Day with, and the beer that I mutually love with some of my closest friends. In short, this is my beer.  And I miss it.

When I heard the famous question, “Can I help you?” at Vine & Table, I first hesitated, then asked a question that I already knew the answer to, “Um… do you have Speight’s?”  I’ve asked that question one too many times at other stores. Plus, I’d already scoured the walk-in beer cooler and filled my cart, but not with one hint of Speight’s. The man who approached me, thought about it, said no, but then responded in a way that I hadn’t anticipated, “But I can look into ordering it for you.” I almost dropped my cart, “Really?!?!”

He went on to explain how and why it was not just a faint possibility, but a real option.  I felt like a little girl who found out Toys R Us could order New Zealand Barbie. I left with essentials for my 4th of July barbecue, and with a building excitement that I would soon taste  my beer.

Vine & Table has more than just beer, as the name implies. It offers wines, liquors, cheese, and foods from all around the globe.  If you have a long lost beer, wine, cheese, or any other spirit check out Vine & Table along with the seven other wineries at  IU Health North Hospital Art of Wine on July 16th from 5pm to 10pm. The event is free, and unlimited tastings are available with a $15 cash wine glass purchase. All the specifics are available here.

The research doesn’t stop there! Leading up to the event on July 16th, I am excited to schedule an evening at Shiraz with friends, road trip to one of the participating wineries, and venture outside of my wine comfort zone while shopping or eating in the District. It is part of my job after all! However, not so secretly, I am most excited that the research brought a long lost love back to me.

I will soon update the blog with a picture of my beer love and I!

2 Comments

Filed under Art of Wine, Carmel, Indiana, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Long Lost Love

  1. Love this! Thanks for writing on one of my favorite lunch spots in Carmel!! I work right across the street at the Century 21 Scheetz office and try to make it there at least once a week 🙂

  2. Thanks Brandy! Sorry for the late reply- I’m glad we share a mutual love for Vine & Table. Hopefully I’ll run into you there soon!

Leave a Reply

