Exploring New Mediums

For the majority of my life, art was restricted to creativity within paint or crayons on paper. It wasn’t until later in my 20s that I considered art in various forms.  Street art, mosaics, recycled items and new mediums became my favorite art form.  The dimensions and different ideas displayed brought a unique energy to my outdated concept of ‘art’.  During my internship in 2009, I was able to experiment with a new medium when the interns were given the task of decorating a large Nebuchadnezzar bottle for the Art of Wine event.

Here is our finished product:

The interns' work of art, which was displayed in 2009.

Needless to say we didn’t continue our art exploration. Various other artists took a simple bottle and turned the medium into something brilliant.

Nancy Keating's award winning 2010 Nebuchadnezzar creation. I regret I did not have my camera in hand to capture her amazing 2011 Art of Wine contribution.

All decorated bottles and other wine related art were displayed throughout the District at IU Health North Hospital Art of Wine on July 16. There was no denying the heat that day, and it was wonderful to see the over 5,000 participants attend the festival. It  became very clear to me throughout planning for the event that my best ‘medium’ is logistics.  From now on out, I will stick to what I do best!

IU Health North Hospital Art of Wine was an exciting event with lots of action behind the scenes. Enjoy some photos showing off my medium- logistics!

The day before IU Health North Hospital Art of Wine. The skies are blue, the flags are up, and we are ready to go!

And it the festival begins! The tents are ready for the eight wineries to arrive and begin setting up!

And it begins! The tents are ready and waiting for the wineries at IU Health North Hospital Art of Wine!

The stage is ready for Blair Clark and his talented musicians to start grooving!

At 5:00 p.m., the festival begins and patrons enjoy unlimited tasting from the various wineries.

Team 'Lucy' and 'Ricky' compete by stomping grapes for donations for the National Multiple Sclerosis Society Indiana Chapter. Thank you for all your donations!

Huber's Orchard & Winery satisfy patron's palates with a variety of their wines.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art of Wine, Carmel, Indiana

Leave a Reply

